Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

FUNAAB Academic Calendar

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, or FUNAAB, was established on 1 January 1988 by the Federal Government when four universities of technology, earlier merged in 1984, were demerged. This led to the creation of the first two universities of agriculture in Abeokuta and Makurdi.


On the same date, Professor Nurudeen Olorun-Nimbe Adedipe was appointed the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of the university. Professor Adedipe officially assumed duty on 28 January 1988. For many years the date which Professor Adedipe assumed duty was wrongly adopted as the foundation day. Following a revisit to the instrument setting up the university, a council decision at its 53rd statutory meeting in June 2010 reverted the foundation date to 1 January 1988 as prescribed by the law which established the university.


To be a centre of excellence in knowledge generation for global development and the sustenance of an environmentally friendly society.


To build great future leaders and generate knowledge through research and intellectually stimulating environment for teaching, learning and community outreach towards sustainable development.

FUNAAB Resources

FUNAAB Schools, Departments, Programmes, Centres, and Institutes

College of Management Sciences (COLMAS)

  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Banking and Finance
  • Department of Business Enterprise Management
  • Department of Economics
  • Entrepreneurial Studies

College of Environmental Resources Management (COLERM)

  • Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Environmental Management and Toxicology
  • Department of Forestry and Wildlife Management
  • Department of Water Resources Management and Agrometeorology

College of Animal Science and Livestock Production (COLANIM)

  • Department of Animal Breeding and Genetics
  • Department of Animal Physiology
  • Department of Animal Production and Health
  • Department of Pasture and Range Management

College of Agricultural Management and Rural Development (COLAMRUD)

  • Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management
  • Department of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  • Department of Agricultural Administration
  • Department of Communication and General Studies

College of Plant Science and Crop Production (COLPLANT)

  • Department of Crop Protection
  • Department of Horticulture
  • Department of Plant Breeding and Seed Technology
  • Department of Plant Physiology and Crop Production
  • Department of Soil Science and Land Management

College of Biological Sciences (COLBIOS)

  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Applied Zoology
  • Department of Applied Botany

College of Food Sciences and Human Ecology (COLFHEC)

  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Department of Home Science and Management
  • Department of Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Department of Foodservice and Tourism

College of Veterinary Medicine (COLVET)

  • Department of Veterinary Anatomy
  • Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology
  • Department of Veterinary Pathology
  • Department of Veterinary Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Department of Veterinary Medicine & Surgery
  • Department of Veterinary Public Health & Reproduction

College of Engineering (COLENG)

  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering

College of Physical Sciences (COLPHYS)

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistics

Institutes, Centers, and Academic Establishments

  • School of Postgraduate Studies
  • Distance Learning Institute
  • Institute for Continuing Education
  • Biotechnology Centre

Share this post with your Friends:

See more Post about:
Previous article
Next article