Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK)


Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka is a Federal University in Nigeria. Its main campus is located in the southeastern part of Nigeria in Anambra State’s capital, Awka, and a second campus is at Nnewi. It is one of the federal universities which are overseen and accredited by the National Universities Commission.


Nnamdi Azikiwe University is founded on the philosophy that knowledge should be propagated and disseminated to individuals without let or hindrance. Teaching and Research would be anchored on the needs of the Nigerian and International society generally. The future begins here.

UNIZIK Vision and Mission

The overall vision of the University is to produce graduates with some core attributes.

  • Abroad spectrum of knowledge with specialization in a discipline
  • Logical reasoning
  • Oral and written communication skills and ability
  • Numeracy, and computer literacy
  • High ethical standards in personal and professional life
  • Strong sense of responsibility
  • Self confidence
  • Self-employability

The mission of the University is to use teaching, research, and public service to solve social problems. In the process of learning, students would be oriented to use their education in solving practical problems confronting them in the Nigerian society and beyond.

ln the discharge of its mission, the University shall live up to the ideals of the renowned statesman, Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, by making university education pragmatic, and using it to forge unity among the various communities in Nigeria.

It is hoped and expected that when the above vision has been achieved, graduates of the University will be Disciplined in behavior, Excellent in knowledge and Self-Reliant in their chosen careers, in keeping With the Motto of the University; “Discipline, Excellence, and Self-Reliance”.

UNIZIK Resources

UNIZIK Faculty And Departments

Faculty of Agriculture

  • Agricultural Economics and Extension
  • Animal Science and Technology
  • Crop Science and Horticulture
  • Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Forestry and Wildlife Management
  • Soil Science and Land Resources Management.

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

  • Department of Anatomy
  • Department of Human Physiology


    • Medical Laboratory Science
    • Medical Rehabilitation
    • Nursing Science
    • Radiography/Radiological Science

Faculty of Biosciences

  • Department of Applied Biochemistry
  • Department of Applied Microbiology and Brewing
  • Department of Parasitology and Entomology
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Botany

Faculty of Education

  • Adult Education
  • Human Kinetics and Health Education
  • Guidance and Counselling
  • Science Education
  • Education Management and Policy
  • Early Childhood and Primary Education
  • Library and Information Science
  • Education Foundations

Faculty of Engineering

  • Department of Agriculture and Bio-resources Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Industrial/Production Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Department of Polymer and Textile Engineering

Faculty of Environmental Sciences

  • Architecture
  • Building
  • Environmental Management
  • Estate Management
  • Fine and Applied Arts
  • Geography and Meteorology
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Surveying and Geo-informatics

Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology

  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Medical Rehabilitation
  • Nursing Science
  • Radiography and Radiological Science

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Commercial and Property Law
  • Department of International Law and Jurisprudence
  • Department of Public and Private Law

Faculty of Management Sciences

    • Accountancy
    • Banking and Finance
    • Business Administration
    • Cooperative Economics and Management
    • Marketing
    • Public Administration
    • Entrepreneurial Studies

Faculty of Medicine

Faculty of Physical Sciences

Faculty of Social Sciences

UNIZIK Schools

      • School of General Studies
      • School of Postgraduate Studies
      • UNIZIK Business School
      • Demonstration Schools

UNIZIK Institute

      • Chinese/Confucius Institute (CI)
      • Chisco Institute for Transportation Studies

UNIZIK Contact

Nnamdi Azikiwe University


Share this post with your Friends:

See more Post about:
Previous article
Next article