University of Abuja (UNIABUJA)

University of Abuja (UNIABUJA)

The University of Abuja is a tertiary institution in the Nigerian capital Abuja. It was established on January 1, 1988, as a dual-mode university with the mandate to run conventional and distance learning programs. Academic work began in the University in 1990 with the matriculation of its pioneer students.


The University took off from a temporary site, made up of three blocks of building meant for a primary school in Gwagwalada, tagged the “mini-campus”. Academic activities started on the mini-campus in 1990. In the same year, the University was allocated an expanse of land covering over 11,800 hectares along the Abuja – Abuja road for the development of its main campus.


To develop an institution of higher learning that combines academic excellence with the pursuit of the unity of Nigeria.


To provide instructional, research, and public service programs appropriate to a university of high standing that guarantees academic excellence and to operate a strong and virile distance learning component that ensures equal educational access to a large constituency.
More so, in order to fulfill the mission of the University the objectives of the University of Abuja have been clearly spelled out in section 1(3) of its law [the University of Abuja Act – 106(1992) cap U2 LFN (2004)]. Specifically, the objectives of the University shall be:

    1. To encourage the advancement of learning and to hold out to all person without distinction of race, creed, sex or political conviction, the opportunity of acquiring higher liberal education.

    2. To provide courses of instruction and other facilities for the pursuit of learning in all its branches,

    3. and to make those facilities available to such persons as are equipped to benefit from them.

    4. To encourage and promote scholarship and conduct research in all fields of learning and human endeavor. To relate its activities to the social, cultural and economic needs of the people of Nigeria.

    5. To undertake as part of its academic programs distance learning and continuing education in various disciplines

    6. To cater to the interest of the working class or those who cannot benefit from the full-time university education and to undertake any other activities appropriate for a University of the highest standard.

UNIABUJA Resources

UNIABUJA Faculty and Department

College of Health Sciences

  • Department of Pathology and Forensic Medicine
    • Pathology and Forensic Medicine

Faculty of Clinical Sciences

  • Anesthesia
  • Community Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Department of Ophthalmology
  • Pediatrics
  • Department of Psychiatry
  • Radiology
  • Surgery

Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences

  • College of Health Sciences
    • Department of Ophthalmology

Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

  • Anatomical Sciences
  • Human Physiology
  • Department of Medical Biochemistry

Faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences

  • Chemical Pathology
  • Department of Pathology and Forensic Medicine
  • Hematology & Blood Transfusion
  • Department of Medical Microbiology & Parasitology
  • Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Theater Arts

College of Health Sciences of the University

  • faculty of Basic Clinical Sciences
    • Chemical Pathology

Department of Linguistics & African Languages



Share this post with your Friends:

See more Post about:
Previous article
Next article